Taking on a Sense of Urgency

Sense of urgency.

Ugh.

Those three words make my blood run cold. You see, I’m a don’t-just-do-something-stand-there kind of guy who believes that slow and steady wins the race. I equate “sense of urgency” with thoughtless activity for activity’s sake. It stands in sharp contrast with my usual approach to spirituality, which is more “Be still and know that I am God.”

That said, this passage from the Ash Wednesday reading from the prophet Joel practically screams “sense of urgency” (Joel 2:15-16):

Blow the trumpet in Zion!
proclaim a fast,
call an assembly;
Gather the people,
notify the congregation;
Assemble the elders,
gather the children
and the infants at the breast;
Let the bridegroom quit his room
and the bride her chamber.

So does this one from Paul’s second letter to the Corinthians (2 Corinthians 6:2):

Behold, now is a very acceptable time;
behold, now is the day of salvation.

So what’s going on here?

My measured, reasoned approach carries with it a very real danger that nothing gets done. Sometimes I’m so busy contemplating or considering my options that I miss my window of opportunity.

Some things can’t wait: recognition of my own sin, appreciation of my need for God’s mercy, repentance, turning to God, strengthening my relationship with God.

I don’t need to consider. I don’t need to contemplate. I just need to do. Now.

Leave a Reply

